Classic Georgian Hairstyle

This is a tutorial for a classic Georgian up-do.

Let’s begin.

Step one ~ Start by parting your hair from ear to ear  to the top center of your head.

Step two ~ Using your fingers roll the front section down facing the back of you and slightly push it towards your face for a more voluminous puff.

Step three ~ Pin on both sides of the roll

This is what you should have.

Step four ~ The sides of the puff can look a little wide and floppy so try and gather the sides and pin them behind the puff.

perfect!

Step five ~ Part a section of hair from where the puff is all the way down to the nape of your neck (this is the section closest to your ear) then tie it off for now.

Then on the other side section off about 2 inches of hair then tie this one out of the way for now.

Step six ~ Grab a section of hair behind your puff and roll it towards your puff.

Step seven ~ Then pin it on both sides of the roll.

Step eight ~ Grab another section under neath the first roll and repeat the last step.

Step nine ~ Pin the two rolls together like in the picture.

Step ten ~ With the last section of hair repeat the last two steps.

This is what you should have.

Step eleven ~ With the larger section of hair part it into two sections. One at a time roll them in the direction of the side of your face.

 Then Pin it.

 lovely.

Step twelve ~ Curl the last section remaining with a 25mm barrel curling iron.
hooray we’re done.

 There’s locks of elegance there <><

15 thoughts on “Classic Georgian Hairstyle

  1. I want to thank you so much. I will be attending a Colonial Twelfth Night Ball soon and plan to wear my hair like this. I have been practicing using your excellent tutorial. Although my hair is longer, it is super fine, so I have had to make my own adaptations using brown mesh hair rats for curl forms and am thrilled with my first attempts! I will allow myself lots of time the day of the ball in order to do this myself, but I am now confident of a stunning result thanks to you! I plan to put a strand of pearls in mine, and will feature photos of me in my silk gown a la francais with my period 'ball hair' on my own blog after the event!
    Thanks again,
    Mary
    http://anhistoricallady.blogspot.com

  2. Thanks so much for all the lovely tutorials, I'm off to try them out all:-)))

    By the way, the design of your blog makes me swoon:-) It's so beautiful!

  3. I am trying this style for tonight, so fingers crossed! I am halfway through the curls and it is going well so far. It is actually much more simple than I could have guessed, and solves the need to buy a Georgian wig! Thanks!

  4. Thank you so much for these tutorials! I’m going to use this hairstyle at my “prom”/ball next month. It will look gorgeus with the dress I designed!

Leave a Reply

