Regency Ball Hairstyle

This is a tutorial for a regency hairstyle that was inspired by Emma Woodhouse’s hair in the 2009  BBC Emma mini series. Enjoy!

DSCN5029

Let’s begin.

DSCN4806

Step one ~ Part the front section of your hair beginning from behind your ears to the top of your head on both sides, then tie them out of the way for now.

DSCN4976

DSCN4979

Step two ~ Leaving a section of hair at the nape of your neck, tie the back section of your hair in a high pony tail then braid the remaining section of hair.

DSCN4980

DSCN4982

Step three ~ Grab a small section of hair at the top of your pony tail and make a victory roll then pin it.

DSCN4987

DSCN4986

Step four ~ Do the same thing on two sides of your pony tail.

DSCN4985

This is what you should have.

DSCN4990

DSCN4992

DSCN4994

DSCN4995

Step five ~ From the remaining hair grab a smaller section (try and grab a section that’s underneath and between the two rolls) tie it into a half knot (making sure you don’t pull it all the way) now you will have a loop to pin.

DSCN4999

DSCN5001

Step six ~ Pin the loop near the top of the two victory rolls.

DSCN5002

Do the same on the other side.

DSCN5003

Step seven ~ Pin one more knot in the middle (sort of on the first victory roll you had made before).

DSCN5005

DSCN5004

DSCN5006

Step eight ~ With the remaining hair roll it underneath its self and pin it.

DSCN5007

DSCN5010

DSCN5011

Step nine ~ With the front sections of your hair twist them a little then pin them to the side of your bun. With the ends roll them into little curls then pin them to your bun.

DSCN5019

DSCN5016

DSCN5013

This is what you should have 😉

DSCN5020

DSCN5021

DSCN5024

Step ten ~ Wrap your braid around your bun and pin it (make sure you pin the sides too).

DSCN5025

DSCN5036

If your hair isn’t long enough (like mine) to wrap your braid all around your bun, cover the little hair tie with a flower or any thing you fancy. Your hair’s gotta look glamorous on both sides 😉

DSCN5030

DSCN5026

You’re done!

DSCN5029

Now time for some harmless matchmaking :\

12 thoughts on “Regency Ball Hairstyle

  1. All of the hair tutorials here are so lovely ! I was afraid at first it would be difficult to do because I’m used to following tutorials on Youtube but the photos are chosen well and so it seems simple. I haven’t tried any of the hairstyles yet but I sure will do before the end of this week ! I only hope my hair won’t be too thin and scarce for them.
    Are you going to post any new hairdo by the end of the summer ? I subscribed to the newsletter because I don’t want to miss any of it ! Are you going to do an “about me” one day, or do you have another blog ?
    Anyway, keep up the good work, you’re great 😉

    • Thank you so much Angelique for your kind comments!!! I should have a few more styles out by the end of the year, I’m not too sure when but they will come 😉 I don’t have an about page at the moment but I might in the future. Thanks so much again and I hope all goes well with your hairdos!!!

      Kindest Regards,
      Samantha

      PS You’re great too 😉

  2. I have a passion for braiding and styling hair, and I must say, these are the most beautiful hair styles out there! I think I will pick one for my graduation! You are so creative and talented-keep up the beautiful work!

  3. Hello!

    Your tutorials are so easy to follow! Thank you!

    I was wondering if you watch/watched Dr Quinn Medicine Woman? I love her hairstyles. Could you recreate some of them in tutorials? There are several half ups and full up dos that I love but can’t figure out how it was done.

    • Hi Lindsey!! Thank you for your comment!! Unfortunately I don’t watch Dr Quinn Medicine Woman but I do have a hairstyle coming soon that is from that era. You’ll be in for a treat 😉 Thanks again!! Samantha

  4. I recently discovered this blog looking for period updos/buns and this is the closest I could find of the hairstyle of Cecile de Volanges in the film Valmont. This is so pretty and I thought I couldn’t manage it as my hair is not as curly or long as yours, but I did. This is something I can do very often to my hair and it’s so pretty. I hope to try the other styles as well sometime as well as to see other tutorials!

Leave a Reply

